Mendeleo Vijijini Blog

Mendeleo Vijijini Blog story was published on August 2, 2020.

Title: Glory and Martha From Nganza Secondary Emerged Overall Winners for Yst -Science4development 2020 Award.

Glory Kirochi and Martha Machumu from Nganza Girls' Secondary School in Mwanza, are the overall winners for YST-Science4Development 2020 (Young Scientists Tanzania Award).

Glory and Martha won the award of their project idea titled "Investigation and Analysis of Hydroponic Fodder as the Best Solution for Animal Feed and Health" that caters to drought conditions.

As a result of the victory, Glory and Martha won a trophy, shield, gold medals and cash prize of Tsh 1,350,000, while also received a university scholarship by the Karimjee Jivanjee Foundation (KJF).

Runner up award was taken by Albert Mhagama and Stella Kasalla from Kisimiri School in Arusha region who received a trophy, shield, silver medals and Tshs. 900,000.

During the 10th anniversary of the YST, students Yvonne Urio and Dorris Kilonzo from Rugambwa Secondary School in Kagera region, won the Hatim Karimjee Memorial Award with their project titled for the In-car Safety Improvement Project, where they also received cash prize of one million shillings, shields and medals.

On the other hand, Lameck Obeid and Dennis Ndahaje from Katubuka Secondary School in Kigoma received scholarships after designing the project 'Secret to Students from Poor Families Fail to Achieve Education Goals'.

In this year, the YST award ceremony goes virtual in order to avoid physical contact following the Corona virus Pandemic.


Speaking when presenting the Award from Dar es Salaam, YST co-Founder, Dr. Gozibert Kamugisha, said Covid-19 disease caused a lot of challenges, including the destruction of communication and scientific exhibitions.


“Because of the Pandemic, we were forced to change our systems and use digital means to reach out to students in their locations cities to check those jobs and make decisions through the internet," said Kamugisha.


Typically, the exhibition is held annually with the aim of increasing the incentive for students to love science subjects, while designing many projects in social science, technology and so on. However, Dr. Kamugisha said they have a lot to be proud of in the 10 years since the inception of YST, during which time they have been able to reach many schools and make significant changes in the field of science and technology.


"The community is really excited, and through this science fair, students have been developing various scientific projects that can provide solutions to the community based on the real concept of life," said Dr. Kamugisha.


The chairman of the Karimjee Jivanjee Foundation (KJF), Yusuf Karimjee, who is the main sponsor of the exhibition, said that by 2019 a total of 29 students who did well in the YST exhibition are being funded for their higher education.


"KJF we believe in enabling young people to get an education, that's why we help budding scientists show talent and creativity to bring development to Tanzania," said Yusuf.

In the 2020 competition, approximately 600 topics were presented from various schools in mainland Tanzania and the Islands.

In Category Awards:


Technology & Computer Sciences:

The first winners are Fatma Hassan Saleh and Najma Khamis Malik from Benbella Secondary School - Unguja; the second winners are Innocent Jisena Revocatus and Morice James Kurusanga from Kibaha Secondary School; The third winners are Beastus Banelt Majubu and Darwin Stephano Twalale from Bwiru Boys' Secondary School in Mwanza.


Agriculture Sciences:

The first winners are Spencer Salvatory Minja and Masalu Ernest Masalu from Kibiti Boys School; The second winners are Rehema Herman Chonde and Abdurazaki Yusuphu Saidi from Mitengo Secondary - Mtwara; and the third winners are Simon Jimmy Kayumba and Alfred Godfrey Katonkola from Kipande Secondary - Rukwa.


Biological Sciences:

The first winners are Elvira Godfrey Kalulu and Maria Anthonia Richard Kapinye from Pandahill Secondary - Mbeya; The second winners are Gracejacqueline Helmas Karatta and Regina Patrick Sawa from Kisimiri Secondary - Arusha; and the third winners are Charles Barnabas Bugeshi and Mujuni Boniphace Mutasingwa from Ilboru Secondary - Arusha.


Social Sciences:

The first winners are Mary Satiel Mshana and Herman Aidan Ngogo from Mawelewele Secondary - Iringa; The second winners are Gloria Martin Mwakalembusya and Calister Michael Sanga from Kisimiri Secondary - Arusha; and the third winners are Gloria Ibrahim Mbonde and Zawadi Mohamed Mkai from Kikuyu Secondary - Dodoma.

In Category Awards:


Physical, Chemical & Mathematical Sciences:

The first winners are Abdul-majid Salum Moh'd and Mathna Khamis Abdul-rahman from Lumumba Secondary - Unguja; The second winners are Elian Deogratius Rutazaa and Salma Said Chammah from St. Peter Claver Secondary - Dodoma; The third winners are Moza Rashid Said and Nassbah Mohamed Khalfan from Kiembe Samaki A Secondary - Unguja.


Climate Change & Environmental Sciences:

The first winners are Zainab Omar Hussein and Swabra Zahor Vuai from Benbella Secondary - Unguja; Faith Zictor Madulu and Irene Deudatus Mbeleka from Msalato Girls Secondary - Dodoma; and the third winners are Ivan John Nyaindi and Michael Gido Jengela from Marian Boys Secondary - Coast.


Special Awards:

Speedy Print Award: The winners are Rahma Hamza Ally and Winfrida William Achiro from Mtwara Girls Secondary School.

National Institute For Medical Research Award: The winners are Bazilio Yesaya Kaonde and Mpoki Pius Peter from Kizwite Secondary School – Rukwa.

Muhimbili University Of Health And Allied Sciences Award: The winners are Mathias Kasuku and Kenyata T. Kenyata from Rungwa Secondary School – Katavi.

University Of Dar Es Salaam Award: The winners are Lilian Mugeta Magudira and Razer Omary Semunyu from Tabora Girls Secondary – Tabora.

First Car Rental Award: The winners are Fatma Shomari Mbwana and Upendo Helbert Mwalongo from Loleza Secondary School – Mbeya.

Realising Education for Development Award: The winners are Mabula Guliga Gamaya and Edbily Ndenga Nickson from Bariadi Secondary School – Simiyu.

Regional Award: The winners are Zainabu Juma Shamte and Nurath Mohamedi Makota from Mkonge Secondary School – Lindi.

The YST Teacher Award: The winner is Emmanuel Athumani Peter from Kisimiri Sekondari – Arusha.

YST Hatim Karimjee Perpetual Trophy:The winners are Yvonne Emmanuel Urio and Doris Cliff Kilonzo from Rugambwa Secondary School in Kagera with their project idea titled “Improving A Cars Safety - A Car Black Box”.

Special Education Scholarships: The winners are Lameck Silas Obeid and Denis Cosmas Mpahaje from Kabutuka Secondary School – Kigoma.